Last weekend, the Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) celebrated writers, announcing the winners of the 2011 Writers Guild Awards for outstanding achievement in writing for screen, television, radio, news, promotional, videogame, and new media writing at simultaneous ceremonies at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel-Grand Ballroom in Los Angeles and the AXA Equitable Center in New York City.

The LA event was packed! And it was a blast to see writers treated like rockstars! I think the writers enjoyed it too …


Original Screenplay
Inception, Written by Christopher Nolan

Christopher Nolan, “Inception”

Adapted Screenplay
The Social Network , Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the book The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich

Documentary Screenplay
Inside Job , Written by Charles Ferguson; Co-written by Chad Beck, Adam Bolt


Drama Series
AMC’s Mad Men , Written by Jonathan Abrahams, Lisa Albert, Keith Huff, Jonathan Igla, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Brett Johnson, Janet Leahy, Erin Levy, Tracy McMillan, Dahvi Waller, Matthew Weiner

“Mad Men” Writers

Comedy Series
ABC’s Modern Family, Written by Jerry Collins, Paul Corrigan, Alex Herschlag, Abraham Higginbotham, Elaine Ko, Joe Lawson, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Brad Walsh, Ilana Wernick, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

“Modern Family” Writers

New Series
HBO’s Boardwalk Empire , Written by Meg Jackson, Lawrence Konner, Howard Korder, Steve Kornacki, Margaret Nagle, Tim Van Patten, Paul Simms, Terence Winter

“Boardwalk Empire” Writers Meg Jackson & Margaret Nagle

Episodic Drama – any length – one airing time
“The Chrysanthemum and the Sword” (AMC’s Mad Men), Written by Erin Levy

Erin Levy & Matt Weiner, "Mad Men"

Episodic Comedy – any length – one airing time
“When It Rains, It Pours” (NBC’s 30 Rock), Written by Robert Carlock

Long Form – Original – over one hour – one or two parts, one or two airing times
HBO’s The Special Relationship, Written by Peter Morgan

Long Form – Adaptation – over one hour – one or two parts, one or two airing times
HBO’s The Pacific, “Part Eight,” Written by Michelle Ashford and Robert Schenkkan, Based in part on the books Helmet for My Pillow by Robert Leckie and With The Old Breed by Eugene B. Sledge with additional material from Red Blood, Black Sand by Chuck Tatum and China Marine by Eugene B. Sledge

Michelle Ashford & Robert Schenkkan, “The Pacific”

Animation – any length – one airing time
“The Prisoner of Benda” (Comedy Central’s Futurama), Written by Ken Keeler

Comedy/Variety – (Including Talk) Series
Comedy Central’s The Colbert Report , Writers: Barry Julien, Dan Guterman, Eric Drysdale, Frank Lesser, Glenn Eichler, Jay Katsir, Max Werner, Meredith Scardino, Michael Brumm, Opus Moreschi, Peter Gwinn, Rich Dahm, Rob Dubbin, Scott Sherman, Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Peter Grosz, Paul Dinello

Comedy/Variety – Music, Awards, Tributes – Specials
PBS’ National Memorial Day Concert 2010, Written by Joan Meyerson

Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood, Story by Patrice Desilets, Jeffrey Yohalem, Corey May; Lead Script Writer: Jeffrey Yohalem; Script Writers: Ethan Petty, Nicholas Grimwood, Matt Turner


Outstanding Achievement in Writing – Original New Media
“The Real Thing,” “Identity Crisis,” “Girl Talk,” “Naming Things,” “Curtain Up” (Anyone But Me), Written by Susan Miller, Tina Cesa Ward

Outstanding Achievement in Writing – Derivative New Media
“Strip Pong,” “Tear Jerks,” “Brainstorm,” (Frank vs. Lutz), Written by Jon Haller; 30 Rock New Media

For a complete list of winners, go to



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, ASAP. Thanks!


Copyright © 2020 Debra Eckerling, Write On Online, All Rights Reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?