On Sunday, March 2, the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences broadcast the 86th Annual Oscar winners.  On Saturday, March 1, Film Independant’s Spirit Awards were presented. Here are the writing winners, along with some of the top prizes, as the film-award season wraps.

Academy Award Winners

Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave

Original Screenplay: Her, written by Spike Jonze

Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years a Slave, screenplay by John Ridley

Spirit Awards

Best Feature: 12 Years a Slave

Best First Feature: Fruitvale Station

Best Screenplay: 12 Years a Slave, screenplay by John Ridley

Best First Screenplay: Nebraska, by Bob Nelson

The Writers Guild of America writing awards are posted here.

* * *

Going through awards withdrawal already? Check out Matt Lohr’s take on the nominees in the the February Write On Meeting on Blog Talk Radio.Lohr is co-author of Dan O’Bannon’s Guide to Screenplay Structure. Read the recap and and listen to the replay.

* * *

Congrats to all of this year’s winners. Looking forward to another fabulous year of movies.

Which of this year’s award winners was your favorite?



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, ASAP. Thanks!


Copyright © 2020 Debra Eckerling, Write On Online, All Rights Reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?