On Saturday, February 1, The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) announced the winners of the 2014 Writers Guild Awards at ceremonies in Los Angeles and Los Angeles. Writers in screen, television, radio, news, promotional, videogame, and new media were honored.

Here are some of the winners:

Original Screenplay: Her, written by Spike Jonze

Adapted Screenplay: Captain Phillips, screenplay by Billy Ray; Based on the book A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty

Documentary Screenplay: Stories We Tell, written by Sarah Polley

Drama Series: Breaking Bad, written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, and Moira Walley-Beckett

Comedy Series: Veep, written by Simon Blackwell, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Tony Roche, and Will Smith

New Series: House of Cards, written by Kate Barnow, Rick Cleveland, Sam Forman, Gina Gionfriddo, Keith Huff, Sarah Treem, and Beau Willimon

Episodic Drama: “Confessions” (Breaking Bad), written by Gennifer Hutchison

Episodic Comedy: “Hogcock!” (30 Rock), written by Jack Burditt & Robert Carlock

Long Form – Adapted: Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight, written by Shawn Slovo, Based on the book by Howard Bingham and Max Wallace

Short Form New Media – Original: “Episode 4: The Collected Sylvia” (Sylvia Plath: Girl Detective), written by Mike Simses

Animation: “A Test Before Trying” (The Simpsons), written by Joel H. Cohen

Comedy/Variety (Including Talk) – Series: The Colbert Report, writers: Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Michael Brumm, Nate Charny, Rich Dahm, Paul Dinello, Eric Drysdale, Rob Dubbin, Glenn Eichler, Gabe Gronli, Dan Guterman, Barry Julien, Jay Katsir, Frank Lesser, Opus Moreschi, Bobby Mort, Meredith Scardino, and Max Werner

Comedy/Variety – Music, Awards, Tributes – Specials: Blake Shelton’s Not So Family Christmas, head writers: Jay Martel and Ian Roberts; writers: Alex Rubens and Charlie Sanders

Quiz and Audience Participation: Jeopardy!, written by John Duarte, Harry Friedman, Mark Gaberman, Debbie Griffin, Michele Loud, Robert McClenaghan, Jim Rhine, Steve D. Tamerius, and Billy Wisse

Daytime Drama: Days of Our Lives, written by Lorraine Broderick, David Cherrill, Carolyn Culliton, Richard Culliton, Rick Draughon, Christopher Dunn, Janet Iacobuzio, David A. Levinson, Ryan Quan, Dave Ryan, Melissa Salmons, and Christopher J. Whitesell

For the complete list of winners, go to the Writers Guild of America website.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.

  1. […] The Writers Guild of America writing awards are posted here. […]


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, ASAP. Thanks!


Copyright © 2020 Debra Eckerling, Write On Online, All Rights Reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?